Friday, July 2, 2021

Defending the Title: 1933: Those who Did and Those Who Didn't Defend Their Title

 Iowa State's Robert Hess was the only repeat champion in Lehigh in 1933.  All of the other champions that night one their first title. 

1933 Champion 118 
Rex Peery of Oklahoma State 

Legend as a wrestler and later legend as a coach at Pittsburgh, Peery was a sophomore the night he won his first of what would eventually be three NCAA titles for the Cowboys.  He'd repeat in 1934 and 1935. 

1933 Champion 126
Ross Flood of Oklahoma State 

Like teammate Peery, Flood was a sophomore who would go on to win two more titles in 1934 and 1935.  Post his phenomenal collegiate career, Flood would capture a silver medal at the 1936 Olympics. 

1933 Champion 135
Patrick Devine of Indiana 

These days Indiana is most certainly thought of as a basketball school, but back during the days of Patrick Devine, the Hoosiers more than held their own on the mat.  The two time BIG 10 champion, was a junior the night he won the NCAA title. He'd come back as a senior to capture a third place finish.  

1933 Champion 145
Alan Kelley of Oklahoma State 

One of the many repeat champions of Oklahoma State, Kelley would go on to win a second title in 1934. 

1933 Champion 155
Merrill "Doc" Frevert of Iowa State 

There was no wrestling where Frevert attended high school and he had to be convinced to give wrestling a try once he arrived at Iowa State.  Reluctant and weary as he was, a few short years after stepping onto a mat for the first time, Frevert graduated as an NCAA champion.   Post college, he ran a veterinarian clinic in West Union, Iowa. 

1933 Champion 165 
George Martin of Iowa State 

World War II veteran, who was awarded the bronze star for an act of heroism, add Martin to your list of NCAA champions who never won a state title.  Wrestling for Eagle Grove, Martin took finishes of second and third while in high school.  During his time as a Cyclone, Martin finished third at the NCAA championships as a junior before winning the NCAA title here in 1933. 

1933 Champion UNL
Ralph Teague of Southwest Oklahoma State 

Of the many great wrestlers who competed for colleges that no longer have wrestling programs that SHOULD, Ralph Teague was among the best.  Winning a title here as a junior, he'd go on to capture another title in 1934 as a senior. 


Very successful year for individuals who would go on to win more titles.  Hess as already mentioned, as Peery, Flood, Kelley and Teague would all see gold again during their collegiate careers. 

Cyclone teammates Frevert and Martin marked the only two seniors crowned NCAA champions that night 

Devine the one who was unable to repeat as champion, yet came back for a strong third place finish. 


No comments:

Post a Comment