Sunday, June 27, 2021

Defending The TItle: 1930: Who Did and Who Didn't Defend Their Title

 1930 was a year of repeats for NCAA wrestling as five of the champions crowned had also won titles in 1929.  Joe Sapora of Illinois & Laurence Mantooth of Oklahoma both won their second and final titles.  Earl McCready of Oklahoma State won his third.  Jack Van Bebber and Conrad Caldwell of Oklahoma State won their second of what would be eventual three titles.  

Let's take a look at the other three champions crowned in 1930. 

1930 Champion 135
Hugh Linn of Iowa State 

Linn was a senior the year he won his NCAA title for the Cyclones. 

1930 Champion 145
Hardie Lewis of Oklahoma 

Unfortunately I was unable to obtain a photo of Lewis who was a sophomore at the time of his first NCAA title.  Now what I don't know is if he didn't wrestle at the 1931 championships or if he wrestled in them but failed to place.  What I can tell you is that he came back in 1932 and won a second title.  

1930 Champion 155
Otto Kelly of Michigan 

Seventy years later another Wolverine grappler with the nickname of Otto would make a name for himself as a multiple time BIG 10 champion and three time All American.  Yet before Otto Olson, there was Otto Kelly.  Kelly had made the NCAA finals in 1929 as a junior and in 1930 as a senior he traded in his silver for gold, being crowned champion. 

Five of the champions accounted for in previous post, with two of the champions being seniors.

That leaves Hardie Lewis who did not repeat as champion in 1931 but who did come back in 1932 to win a second title. 

No comments:

Post a Comment